I have made another attempt to explain the truth in simple English in Plain Truths blog. Some of the readers suggested me to provide some scriptural statements supporting these posts. So, I have written Yoga Vedanta blog that gives references to the words of Lord.

I am currently studying Yoga VaasishTa and make few posts to the blog on wordpress.

Wednesday, February 4, 2009

What is Vedanta?

Shruti is neither Dwaita nor Adwaita.
Its interpretation is either dwaita or advaita... or whatever one likes it to be.

First step of vedanta is called Samanvaya : During this step one need to study the entire shruti and smriti with the help of a realized Guru and get to the correct understanding of sabda pramana - which is the highest single source of absolute knowledge.

Second step of vedanta is called Avirodha - non-contradiction. During this stage the seeker should iron out all the apparent conflict with the other valid sources of the knowledge. Vedanta accepts direct perception and reasoning (pratyaksha and anumana) as the other two valid sources of knowledge

Third Step is Saadhana the practice: During this stage, one should carry on the practice of vedanta with nidhidhyasana (also called Mouna) - severe contemplation with one-pointed mind from the above two steps - they can also be named as "Shravana" and "Manana". (hearing and understanding)

The fourth stage is called Phala: The attainment of ever existing Fruit as it were. This stage a vedanti is called jeevan mukta.

So, don't worry about a single verses of Upanishads and their respective interpretations. Just follow the path shown by your GURU with utmost FAITH (Sraddha) and everyone is equally capable of treading the path and reach the GOAL

(the goal is most near to you.... nearer than what ego can think about nearness)

"Namaami Bhagavatpaada Samkaram loka samkaram!"
Om Tat Sat.

1 comment:

Prof.M.S.Thimmappa said...

Very short and sweet, simple and straightforward without the trappings of interpretation and interpretation on interpretation endlessly but focusing on experiential part.